Mayor's Commission on Disabilities

The Mayor's Commission on Disabilities was created by the City of Baltimore Ordinance #93-237. 

Mission Statement

The mission of the Mayor’s Commission on Disabilities is to:
Work to remove barriers and promote equal rights and opportunities for individuals with disabilities.


The purpose of the Mayor’s Commission on Disabilities is to:

  • Assist the City with the accessibility of city facilities, programs, employment opportunities, and services for residents with disabilities.
  • Assist the City in complying with the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) of 1990.
  • Assist the City in providing information and educational programs for City government, businesses, and industries regarding reasonable accommodations for employment and other issues concerning persons with disabilities.
  • Assist the City with ensuring the implementation of the City’s Master Plan for Accessibility and Universal Design.


Comprised of 23-voting members and 12 non-voting members. The Mayor appoints the voting members for terms of up to four years.

  • 9 members: persons with disabilities not employed in the field of disabilities.
  • 3 members: family members of persons with disabilities.
  • 9 members: representatives of business, industry, and community organizations.
  • 1 member: Mayor's representative.
  • 1 member: City Council representative.
  • 12 members: representatives of Baltimore City agencies.

City Agencies Represented on the Commission

  • Baltimore City Health Department
  • Baltimore City Public School System
  • Baltimore Office of Promotion and the Arts
  • Commission on Aging & Retirement Education
  • Community Relations Commission
  • Department of Housing and Community Development
  • Department of Human Resources
  • Department of Planning
  • Department of Public Works
  • Department of Transportation
  • Department of Recreation & Parks
  • Law Department
  • Mayor's Office of Employment Development
  • Police Department
  • Department of Social Services
  • Enoch Pratt Free Library
  • Department of General Services 

Draft - By-Laws - MCD Draft Bylaws 10212020


Aloma Bouma (Chair)
Adam Levine
Brenda Haynes
David Greenberg
Dianne Blevins
Janice Jackson
Kimberly Michelle Grade
Michael Trentadue
William Fields
Yojinde Paxton